How do I disable a user account?

Disabling a user account blocks that user from being able to access the system. However, the user's data and activity are still retained in the system.

Note: Disabling an account is often preferable to removing a user account, as removing an account deletes all the user data for that user, including any grades, resources, and other user-related files or activity.

Go to Users.

Go to Users.

Select the Users tool from the Tool Menu in the Administration Workspace.

Enter a search term.

Enter a search term.

Enter a search term to locate the account you are looking for. You may search by a full or partial string of characters which appears in the user id, name, or email fields of a user's account.

Click Search.

Search results will display.

All internal accounts meeting the search criteria will be displayed.

Note: Users defined by an external user authority (e.g. LDAP, etc.) are not listed here.

Click on an individual user id to edit that user's details.

Check the box next to Disable, then click Update Details to save the change.

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment