How do I change Announcements tool permissions?
By default, students may only read announcements that have been posted by instructors and other instructor-type roles. But permissions can be changed so that students may create, edit, delete, and even access draft versions of the announcements not yet published.
Modify the permissions for the roles listed.
- Check the box next to each permission you would like to allow for a given role. (Deselecting a box will remove the corresponding permission.)
- Click Save to save your changes.
In the illustration above, students have been given access to create announcements, and they can edit or delete an announcement that they created themselves, but not the announcements created by others.
Note: You may see different roles listed depending on the roles which exist in your site. A role must be present in the site in order for you to modify its permissions. For instance, in a project site, you will see role for Access (i.e. students/participants) and Maintain (i.e. site owners/instructors).